Label : Napalm Records

Review by Tony Cannella

It’s been a long road for the Austrian Symphonic power metal band Visions of Atlantis. They are true survivors of the genre. They’ve survived numerous line-up changes and yet still they remain as strong as ever. As a testament to VoA’s lasting endurance and strength the band have just released their 5th full-length album “Ethera”.

“The Ark” starts things off with male vocalist Mario Plank beginning the song before Maxi Nil joins in. This is pure Visions of Atlantis and an excellent way to begin things. This is now the second album to feature Maxi Nil (not including the EP “Maria Magdalena”) and she continues to be a great fit for this band. “The Ark” segues neatly into the up-tempo energy of “Machinage”. This song definitely has a machine like quality to it. “Avatara” continues the up-tempo style and is a fast paced bouncy number, with some great work from Mario and Maxi. This is one that definitely stands out as a highlight. “Vicious Circle” is a beautifully dramatic song which truly showcases VoA at their best. Other highlights include: “Hypnotized”, “Burden of Divinity” and “Tlaloc’s Grace”.

Whilst this may not be the best album that Visions of Atlantis has ever produced, “Ethera” is still an album that sits proudly with their impressive back catalogue. In my opinion VoA continues to be one of the – if not THE – finest bands in the whole symphonic metal genre and “Ethera” should further establish them as leaders in the field.

Rating – 86/100



  1. The Ark
  2. Machinage
  3. Avatara
  4. Vicious Circle
  5. Hypnotized
  6. Tlaloc’s Grace
  7. Burden of Divinity
  8. Cave Behind the Waterfall
  9. A.E.O.N. 19th
  10. Bestiality Vs. Integrity
  11. Cleric’s Emotion
  12. Tlaloc’s Grace (Orchestra Version) (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Maxi Nil – Vocals
  • Mario Plank – Vocals
  • Cris Tian – Guitars
  • Martin Harb – Keyboards
  • Thomas Caser – Drums



Facebook * Twitter

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)