Weeping Silence – “For the Unsung” (2012)


Label : Ravenheart Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Malta is not known as a metal hotbed. In fact, the only band I can think of that hails from there is the gothic, doom metal band Weeping Silence. The band formed in 1998 and released their debut album “End of an Era” in 2008. They followed that up with “Theatre of Life” in 2011 and have now returned with their new album “For the Unsung”. Weeping Silence utilizes the tried-and-true method of beauty and the beast vocals to a huge degree of success.

The majority of the songs on “For the Unsung” have a melancholic vibe to them. The female vocals are excellent, strong and powerful and have a bit of Floor Jansen vibe to them. The male vocals are pretty much your basic beast styled death grunts. “For the Unsung” moves along at a rapid pace, awash with massive guitar riffs, great musical performances and some great vocalizing by the duo. The melancholic intro “Mourning Sighs Farewell” segues into the bombastic and energetic “Love Lies Bleeding”. What a great song this has turned out to be and lyrically “Welcome to my graveyard, this is where love lies bleeding” serves as a great introduction to new fans and a re-introduction to older fans. Songs like “Disillusioned”, “Mire of Pity”, “Your Darkest Hour” and the awesome 7-minute closer “My Possession” is all excellent and to pick a favorite among them would be difficult to do. Suffice it to say there is a lot to like about Weeping Silence and “For the Unsung”.

On “For the Unsung”, it seems that the third time is the charm for Weeping Silence. This band seems to really have hit their stride and have delivered the finest album of their career thus far. Sadly, vocalist Rachel Grech has since departed the band and Weeping Silence has a new female singer in the fold. Only time will tell how this change will affect the band as they move forward.

Rating – 93/100



  1. Mourning Sighs Farewell
  2. Love Lies Bleeding
  3. Disillusioned
  4. Mire of Pity
  5. The Search Within
  6. Fallen From Grace
  7. Bitter Screams
  8. Your Darkest Hour
  9. My Possession


Line Up

  • Rachel Grech – Lead Vocals
  • Joseph Grech – Vocals
  • Mario Ellul – Guitars
  • Manuel Spiteri – Guitars
  • Sean Pollacco – Bass
  • Alison Ellul – Keyboards
  • Angelo Zammit – Drums


MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post