Label : Termo Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The Norwegian art-rock band White Willow has been around for a long time. This is my first experience with them, so I was surprised to learn that their newest album “Terminal Twilight” is the bands 6th overall, with their debut being released in 1995.

To say that the music contained on “Terminal Twilight” is eclectic would be an understatement. White Willow infuses their music with such different influences as Jazz-fusion, electronica, orchestral, 70s style prog rock and topping it off with a bit of the avant-garde. Their music plods along at a deliberate, sedate pace and the vibe is almost kind of dark. They almost remind me of a cross between the great fellow Norwegian band The 3rd and the Mortal and Pink Floyd. There is plenty of great musicianship on “Terminal Twilight” starting with the 7-minute “Hawks Circle the Mountain”White Willow mixes shorter 4-5 minute songs with longer epic type numbers. The most memorable song for me was the epic “Searise” which clocks in at 13-minutes. The whole thing lasts for about an hour and other songs that are highlights include: “Red Leaves”, “Floor 67” and “Natasha of the Burning Woods”.

To be honest, I really don’t know what to think of White Willow. I certainly respect the fact that they have been around for so many years and obviously march to their own drummer, so to speak. This is one of the more unique albums and bands I have heard in quite some time and that alone is worthy of admiration.

Rating – 71/100 



  1. Hawks Circle the Mountain
  2. Snowswept
  3. Kansas Regrets
  4. Red Leaves
  5. Floor 67
  6. Natasha of the Burning Woods
  7. Searise
  8. A Rumour of Twilight
  9. The Howling Wind


Line Up

  • Sylvia Erichsen – Vocals
  • Jacob Holm-Lupo – Guitars
  • Lars Fredrik Frøislie -Keyboards
  • Ellen Andrea Wang – Bass
  • Kjetil Einarsen -Flutes
  • Mattias Olsson – Drums


MySpace * Facebook * Site

Miriam Cadoni
Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)