Whyzdom – “Blind?” (2012)


Label : Scarlet Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The band Whyzdom was formed in France in 2007. In 2009 they released their full-length debut, “From the Brink of Infinity”. Now this symphonic metal entity returns with an album even more epic, grandiose and cinematic than their debut. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you… “Blind?”

Whyzdom made one very big line-up change prior to recording “Blind?”, lead vocalist Elvyne Lorient joined the band and she fits in quite nicely. Musically, Whyzdom’s sound is big, dramatic and has a definite cinematic quality, they are sure to draw comparisons to Anette era Nightwish (if they haven’t already), but their music is good enough to stand on its own. “Blind?” is a powerful and beautifully orchestrated album that is well over an hour’s worth music. The opener “The Lighthouse” is surprisingly a pretty straight-forward metal track, with a great opening guitar riff and some orchestration. Throughout “Blind?”, Whyzdom use choir vocals on some songs with great success – this only adds to the hugeness and cinematic elements that this band possesses. The choir vocals are prominent on the next track “Dancing With Lucifer”. It is hard to pick a favorite or highlight for me, but the next track “Cassandra’s Mirror” would be a good choice. Next is the 8-minute “On the Road to Babylon”, this is another big track and it is followed by “Paper Princess” which – I think – would have some great mainstream appeal, but that’s only my opinion. This is mostly a ballad but the song does pick up steam and heaviness near the end. “Blind?” is concluded with the monster 11-minute epic “Cathedral of the Damned”. This song is basically a mixture of what makes Whyzdom so great. With heavy doses of orchestration, changing tempos and just strong performances all the way around, I can’t think of a better way to conclude “Blind?”.

Whyzdom is fast becoming one of my favorite metal bands and they certainly do not have to take a backseat to anyone. “Blind?” is such a good album that should launch Whyzdom into the top tier of Symphonic Metal.

Rating – 95/100



  1. The Lighthouse
  2. Dancing With Lucifer
  3. Cassandra’s Mirror
  4. On the Road to Babylon
  5. Paper Princess
  6. The Spider
  7. The Wolves
  8. Venom and Frustration
  9. Lonely Roads
  10. The Foreseer
  11. Cathedral of the Damned


Line Up

  • Elvyne Lorient – Vocals
  • Vynce Leff – Guitar, Orchestration
  • Regis Morin – Guitar
  • Marc Ruhlmann – Keyboards
  • Xavier Corrientes – Bass
  • Nico Chaumeaux – Drums


MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post