Zephyra – “Kämpaglöd” EP (2013)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Sweden, Zephyra released their first demo, “Behave” in 2010 and followed that up two years later with the EP “First Blood”. Now they return with their new EP “Kampaglod”. Zephyra plays some aggressive and brutal heavy metal and frontwoman Åsa Netterbrant has a powerful voice and is a force to be reckoned with. Åsa is equally effective using her husky, growling vocals as she is with her clean singing voice. Both styles are on display throughout the 29-minute disc.

“Route 611” is a pounding opener and gets things going full force. Songs like “Forced Family”, “Pessimist” and “Release My Anger” are all strong. “Imprisoned Queen” is easily my favorite song both musically and vocally. This song is top-notch power metal combined with old school thrash metal. Lead guitarist Tony Netterbrant makes his mark with an excellent guitar solo and Åsa turns in her strongest vocal performance. The dirge-like instrumental “Kämpaglöd” provides the perfect outro to the CD. Zephyra has been honing their heavy metal craft for the last few years and“Kämpaglöd” sees the band as they continue to evolve.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Route 611
  2. Forced Family
  3. Pessimist
  4. Release My Anger
  5. Imprisoned Queen
  6. Kampaglod (Instrumental)


Line Up

  • Åsa Netterbrant – Lead vocals & growls
  • Tony Netterbrant – Guitars & vocals
  • Tobias Oja – Bass


Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like

Devin Townsend Project – “Z²” (2014)

Label: Century Media Records Review by Tony Cannella Devin Townsend is one talented dude. I don’t think that’s really a revolutionary statement. He’s a multi-instrumentalist, lyricist, showman, multi-tasker, all of…
View Post