Acelsia – “Primrose Path” DEMO (2009)



Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

The Norwegian melodic hard rock/metal band Acelsia formed in 2006. In 2008 they released their first demo, which was followed by their second demo “Primrose Path” in 2009. Beginning with “Preserved” it is easy to see that Acelsia has a knack for writing good melodic songs, packed with heavy riffs. “Love Passed On” is next and one of the heavier songs and features guitarist Marius Pedersen on growls to go along with the clear, enchanting vocals of Malene Markussen who turns in just an excellent performance throughout. The 3rd song “Empty” slows the tempo down a bit whilst still maintaining the heaviness of the band. This 16-minute, all-too-short, EP is brought to its conclusion with the ballad “Slowhand”. After three riff heavy, hard rockers this is certainly a change of pace, but still a very good song and a nice way to end things. Since the release of “Primrose Path”, Acelsia has released another demo in 2010 called “Quietude”.  Hopefully, a full-length is not too far off in their future, until then, I guess these two EPs will have to hold us over.

Rating – 81/100



  1. Preserved
  2. Love Passed On
  3. Empty
  4. Slowhand


Line Up

  • Malene Markussen – Vocals
  • Marius Skarsem Pedersen – Guitars, Growls
  • Odd Henning Skyllingstad – Guitars
  • Nils Alexander – Bass
  • Hakon Hellerud – Drums



MySpace ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like