Alantia – “Alantia” DEMO (2010)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

From The Netherlands, Alantia play good symphonic power metal with operatic vocals provided by Yvette. The bands new demo has just been made available and it is this style that dominates the 6-songs and over 30-minutes worth of music. “Solitary Life” is a strong opener that starts off slow but quickly builds and is followed by another powerful track “To Your Demise”. The vocals of Yvette are well done as she gives her operatic all throughout the course of the Demo. One of my favorite things about the music featured here is the cool interplay between the keyboards (played by Erik) and the guitar. The guitar duo of Markus and Tom make a formidable pair and keyboardist Erik has some moments where he is allowed to shine as well. The 7-minute third track “Echoes of Perdition” is without a doubt, a huge highlight for me. The overall vibe of the track is dark and atmospheric and it includes some great, heavy guitar riffs. This track is the only one to feature male, growling vocals which adds to the sinister nature of the track. The final track “Deceit” quickly became another favorite. The song is highlighted by some great guitar solos that bring the CD to a close.Alantia has recorded a demo that showcases the bands strong musicianship. The 6-songs contained here should be a welcomed sight for fans of Tarja era Nightwish and Sonata Arctica, still there is plenty here that should set the band a part from the crowded symphonic power metal pack.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Solitary Life
  2. To Your Demise
  3. Echoes of Perdition
  4. Pictures of My Past
  5. The Watcher
  6. Deceit


Line Up

  • Yvette – Vocals
  • Markus – Guitar
  • Tom – Guitar
  • Erik – Keyboards
  • Nicky – Bass
  • Nan – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like