Alight – “Don’t Fear the Revenge” (2009)


Label : My Funeral Records

Review by Tony Cannella

At only 7-tracks and 31-minutes worth of music, the debut effort from Italy’s Alight is more of an EP than an actual full-length release. What you get on these 7-songs contained on “Don’t Feat The Revenge” is a healthy dose of Alight‘s brand of Gothic influenced metal complete with lots of melody and great musicianship that carry this effort from beginning to end.The first thing that caught my attention with “Don’t Fear the Revenge” was the packaging. The CD comes in a cool digi-pack format with some nice artwork accompanying the CD. Of course the most important thing is the music and Alight also do very well in that department. The band are fronted by the vocals of Sabina and also include female bassist Elena. The opening track “Disarmed” is a very good starting point for this CD, and features a good grinding guitar riff and the keyboards contribute to the overall atmosphere. “Revolution” and “Landscapes” keep things going on course and the next track “Your Bride” is one of the main highlights and features a guest appearance by Nell of Theatre of Tragedy on guest vocals. The Final three tracks “Black Rain”, “These Eyes” and “Forever Lost” are also solidly entertaining and a good way to end things. Given the relatively short playing time on “Don’t Fear the Revenge” it will be interesting to see how the band develops on future releases. Overall, the songs and the direction on “Don’t Fear the Revenge” are solid and should lay the foundation for a promising career.

Rating – 76/100



  1. Disarmed
  2. Revolution
  3. Landscapes
  4. Your Bride
  5. Black Rain
  6. These Eyes
  7. Forever Lost


Line Up

  • Sabina Spagnoli – Vocals
  • Edward Crow – Guitars
  • Elena Donolato – Bass 
  • Mirko Montresor – Drums  



 MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like