Alternine – “Alternine” EP (2008)


Independent Release

Review by Jon Estelle

Alternine is another new band on the scene that leaves a strong impression. Formed in 2005, this five member band from France was finally able to release their self-titled EP with the addition of singer Laetitia Jehanno. While there are only four tracks to listen to here, none of them disappoint. This is definitely more of a rock album, with a very minor metal influence. You won’t find any layered choruses or heavy classical influences that are often found with femme metal. This demo is a refreshing change for those of that enjoy listening to a talented rock band here and there. If I had to pick one thing that really stood out about this demo it would easily be the guitar work. It has a very energetic feel to it and mixes in enough creativity to keep it fresh between each track. The opening track “Sciensology” is the best song. It takes the rock formula the band does so well and injects a lot more emotion into it. Each band member is playing their best here, maybe even going a bit beyond that. It may seem bad to open with the best song, but everything afterwards still holds up nicely. If Alternine continues along the path they have started paving for themselves their future should be bright. The only thing I found disappointing here is that each track lacks a distinctive feel. While the sound is good, there is little variation between each track. This is the one change I would like to see when they release a full length album. This gripe is very minor though and I do recommend Alternine to anyone looking for a straight rock album.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Sciensology
  2. Ignition
  3. Trigger
  4. Satellites


Line Up

  • Laetitia Jehanno – Vocals
  • Pierre-Antoine Picot – Guitars
  • Guillaume Durand – Guitars, Choirs
  • Julien Névo – Bass, Choirs 
  • Mathieu Roguez – Drums 



MySpace * Site

You May Also Like