Amanda Somerville – “Windows” (2009)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Amanda Somerville is perhaps best known for her work with Epica, Avantasia, Aina and others. She even filled in for an ailing Simone Simons on Epica‘s last U.S. tour (and did quite well, in my opinion). She has just issued her new solo album titled “Windows”. This is actually her second solo release, her first “In The Beginning There Was…” was released way back in 2000. This CD was actually recorded between 2003-2008 and sees Amanda teaming up super producer Sascha Paeth (best known for his work with Kamelot) and Michael “Miro” Rodenberg. Don’t expect anything along the lines of Epica, Kamelot, Avantasia and other such bands. “Windows” features 12-songs and 51-minutes worth of AOR flavored songs with a definite hard rock edge.  The CD was largely written by Amanda Somerville with collaborations on certain songs by Sascha Paeth and Michael Rodenberg. The CD kicks off on a definite high with the great opener “Mayday”. This is an uptempo number with a great chorus and the fantastically huge vocals provided by Amanda. A solid opener that is among the very best that this CD has to offer. “Point of Safe Return” is next and is another highlight. It is a slower tempo than the previous song, but it has no less heart and passion. A cool song that would make a great single (in my humble opinion). “Moth” is keeps things moving along smoothly and keeps the quality of the songs high. Another song that would make a great single, thanks to it’s infectious chorus. “My Song for You” is another favorite. Other highlights include: “Out”, “Inner Whore”, “Get Me” and “Carnival”. The CD is concluded with three ballads: “Sometimes”, “All That I Am” and “Windows” are a perfect way to end things. The songs presented on this CD are quite diversified and the lyrics written by Amanda Somerville on “Windows” are thoughtful and introspective.They say the eyes are the windows to the soul. Well, with her new CD “Windows” provides a look into the soul of a talented singer and song writer. I can’t remember when I have been this excited about a non-metal release. It gets better and better with each listen and should be judged on it’s own merits. “Windows” is definitely a CD of substance and quite worthwhile. 

Rating – 85/100



  1. Mayday
  2. Point of Safe Return
  3. Moth
  4. My Song for You
  5. Get Me
  6. Inner Whore
  7. Out
  8. Carnival
  9. Clean
  10. Sometimes
  11. Hide Safely
  12. All That I Am
  13. Windows


Line Up

  • Amanda Somerville – Vocals & Keyboards
  • Sascha Paeth – Guitars & Vocals
  • Miro – Keyboards & Vocals
  • Olaf Reitmeier – Bass & Vocals
  • Robert Hunecke-Rizzo – Drums, Percussions & Vocals



MySpace Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like