Amantyde – “Mädchen” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

From Italy, Amantyde were formed in 2006 and plays melodic yet still aggressive, riff heavy ‘modern’ metal. On their new album “Mädchen”, Amantyde deliver up an aural assault that features a heavy and powerful groove running through the songs. The power groove of “Creepy Crowlies” sets things in motion and is followed by the equally potent “Join Me in the Desert”. The next track “Dust Childhood” encapsulates everything that I found appealing about this album; this is a very melodic song but still utilizes crunchy riffs. “Dust Childhood” was my favorite song, until I heard the next one “Summer Breeze”. This is just a great mid-tempo number, that Amantyde delivers with a great deal of passion and emotion – I just loved the vocals of Nicky Genovese, throughout the entire album. Despite the aggression that Amantyde displays at times, her vocals are clean – no screaming here. Other highlights include: “My Cold Room”, “My Enemy” and “Princess of Lies”. I found the material on “Mädchen” to be quite addicting and satisfying. “Mädchen” features 9-songs and a playing time of only about 34-minutes, so it hits you hard and fast and leaves you wanting more. I really wasn’t sure what to expect from Amantyde, but I was pleasantly surprised with what I heard on “Mädchen”.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Creepy Crowlies
  2. Join Me in the Desert
  3. Dust Childhood
  4. Summer Breeze
  5. My Cold Room
  6. My Enemy
  7. Nothing but the Rain
  8. Princess of Lies
  9. Zombie


Line Up

  • Nicky – Vocals
  • Dario – Guitar
  • Andrea – Bass & Backing Vocals
  • Geremia – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNationFacebook * Twitter 

You May Also Like