Annatar – “Reflection” EP (2010)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

Annatar are a Melodic Dark Metal band from Holland. They have already released a couple of demos, with their first one (“Remember”) coming out in 2002 and their debut album, “Quest for Reality” seeing the light-of-day in 2006. Now, this female fronted Dutch outfit has returned with… 2-songs. Their new demo/promo CD is titled “Reflection” and that’s right it only features 2-songs. I am not complaining, mind you, but after hearing their two previous outings and loving them, I was really hoping the band would get around to recording a full-length. Hopefully that is not too far off in the future. The good news though is that these two songs are some of the best material that the band has recorded so far. “Reflection” features 9-minutes worth of beautifully crafted melodic metal, in the vein of another great Dutch band, Within Temptation. The first track, “Reflection” races out of the gates with a frenetic guitar riff that just continues to build as the song progresses. The second track is the better of the two, in my opinion. The pacing is a little slower, but heavy guitar riffs are still present on this track. I really like the vocals of Liesbeth Cordia, who at times reminds me of Sharon den Adel from Within Temptation, especially when she hits some of the high notes. Far be it for to predict big things for any band, but if there is any justice, Annatar will have a lengthy and successful career. The proof is in the material, and on “Reflection” Annatar has done themselves proud.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Reflection
  2. Out of My Hands


Line Up

  • Liesbeth Cordia – Vocals
  • Bart Limburg – Guitar
  • Johan van Heusden – Guitar
  • Wietse Braam – Keyboards
  • Jeroen Gahrmann – Bass
  • Daniel Zonneveld – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like