Label : Jammm/Agua Recordings

Review By Tony Cannella

Anneke van Giersbergen has enjoyed a career renaissance since leaving the seminal Dutch outfit The Gathering.  She has not relied on her storied past with The Gathering and has forged a new musical path for herself, a fact that comes through on her new live album – simply titled “Live in Europe” – with Agua de Annique. What you get here is 50-minutes worth of live material from Anneke and Agua de Annique record in Europe (hence the title). From the opening intro to the closing track, The Gathering’s “Shrink” you get a nice collection of songs from the band in all their live glory. “Live in Europe” features a good cross section of material from slower tunes like “Day After Yesterday” to more up-tempo songs like the great “Hey Okay!” and “Fury”. In particular, “Hey Okay!” sounds as great as ever and I would defy anyone to be sad while listening to this song. Other highlights include: “My Girl”, “Who I Am”, “Adore” and “I Want”. Like a fine wine, Anneke’s voice just gets better with age. It is obvious that she is having a great time with Agua de Annique and that positive attitude comes through loud and clear on “Live in Europe”

Rating – 83/100



  1. Intro
  2. The World
  3. My Girl
  4. Who I Am
  5. Day After Yesterday
  6. Hey Okay!
  7. Fury
  8. Beautiful One
  9. Adore
  10. I Want
  11. Laugh It Out
  12. Witnesses
  13. Shrink

Line Up

  • Anneke van Giersbergen – Vocals, Piano, Guitar
  • Thomas Martens – Guitar
  • Jamie Cavanagh – Bass
  • Rob Snijders – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)