Avariel – “The Dawn” (2010)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

From Boston, Massachusetts, Avariel plays symphonic, Power Metal. Vocally, they are led by the energetic and yes, powerful voice of Shannon Kelly. But beyond the outstanding vocals, this band really has it together musically as well. Their debut album is titled “The Dawn” and musically, stylistically and presentation wise, Avariel could give some already established bands a run for their money. “The Dawn” features 9-songs and runs at a healthy 55-minute long. This is another band that caught completely unawares, even more surprising because they are close to my neck of the woods.  The pounding rhythms of “Bleed” open things on a seriously intense note. The riffs are heavy and the usage of keyboards and synths are well done, on this song and throughout the entire album. The band strikes a perfect balance between symphonic and power metal elements. The band slows down the pacing a bit on the excellent second track “Tunnel’s Light”, as Shannon Kelly really demonstrates her vocal range. The gloriously melodic “Emotionless” is next and things are proceeding quite well. On “Victim”, Avariel ratchets up the intensity and features some growly type male vocals, helping to make this the most aggressive track on “The Dawn”. The closing track is the 12-minute prog-style epic “Phoenix”. Other highlights include: the 8-minute “Still”, the beautiful piano driven ballad “Especially Alone” and “In Heaven”. I can’t find enough positive things to say about Avariel and their excellent debut “The Dawn”. But don’t take my word for it; see for yourselves, especially if you love symphonic power metal. “The Dawn” should please even the most jaded fans of the genre.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Bleed
  2. Tunnel’s Light
  3. Emotionless
  4. Victim
  5. Still
  6. Especially Alone
  7. In Heaven
  8. Dark Harbor
  9. Phoenix


Line Up

  • Shannon Kelly – Vocals
  • Michael Rose – Guitars, Piano, Keyboards, Vocals
  • Scott McDonald – Guitars, Vocals
  • Ryan Kelly – Bass
  • Jay Narbonne – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook

You May Also Like