Biosfear – Demo (2009)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Spain’s Biosfear play a strong mix of heavy and progressive metal (with a hint of industrial metal) with lyrics sung exclusively in Spanish. The band have just released a new 5-song demo, I am not sure if they have released anything prior to this, but whether they have (or haven’t) the 5-songs and 25-minutes worth of music on this demo is very professional in sound and style and not to mention musically efficient and just some overall good songs.“Mares Ahogados” begins with just a ripping opening guitar riff and some soaring vocals from Vau. She’s got a really powerful voice. Of the five songs on this CD this is the most basic metal track that is offered, it just goes for the throat and never let’s up. A great opening number, that sees the individual musicians each getting a chance to go off on tangents and really shine. “Reflejo” continues the onslaught with another strong riff, before some very Dream Theater-like keyboards join in. Vocally, Vau demonstrates her versatility on this one.The band are really quite accomplished musicians and it shows on the this 5-song demo. Even though their style definitely lies in the progressive metal field all of the songs are in the 4-5 minute range, so they aren’t bogged down with the endless instrumental passages that plague so much progressive music. Biosfear are sure to appeal to fans of the progressive genre and if this 5-song demo is any indication, I am sure that we will be seeing more from this very talented Spanish band in the future.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Mares Ahogados
  2. Mensajero de Otro Tiempo
  3. Reflojo
  4. Reminiscencia
  5. Ven a Mi

Line Up

  • Gema Vau – Vocals
  • Rudy Ramos – Guitars
  • Javi Diez – Keyboards
  • Suso Perez – Bass 
  • Juanma Maya – Drums 



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like