Blood Corps – “Hollow Point” DEMO (2009)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

According to their bio on their MySpace profile, the Virginia based band Blood Corps were founded back in 2006 and have already supported such prominent metal bands as Kamelot, Sonata Arctica, Edguy and Overkill. The band has just issued their first demo, titled “Hollow Point” and it features 4-songs and 14-minutes worth of some great female fronted melodic metal, with a definite European metal influence.The sinister “Death In The Hollow” is a great way to start things off and is my favorite track on “Hollow Point”. I just love the story telling of the lyrics and the melody of the track, and not to mention a great guitar riff and vocals that really drive this tune. The next track “Penetrate Your Mind” has lyrics that are about as subtle as a punch to the face, with music to match, it is just a straight-forward track that is as fierce and in-your-face as anything else on “Hollow Point”. “Buried Alive” begins with an Iron Maiden like riff, before settling into a pretty good, melodic metal groove, also featuring some male “shouting” background vocals. “Into the Unknown” is the final of the four songs presented here and it is just a heavy, grinding track. Lead vocalist Nina Osegueda does a good job on these four songs, maybe she is technically not the best singer that you might hear, but her voice has the power and force to compliment the music perfectly. Blood Corps are another cool band that I am glad I got the chance to hear for myself. Their music is undeniably heavy, yet still catchy and melodic. “Hollow Point” has four really good and diverse songs on it and Blood Corps are a band that really have a lot going for them. Given the length (or lack thereof) of this demo, “Hollow Point” hits you hard and fast and makes you want to hear it all over again.

Rating – 88/100



  1. Death in the Hollow
  2. Penetrate Your Mind
  3. Necromance
  4. Buried Alive
  5. Into the Unknown

Line Up

  • Nina Osagueda – Vocals
  • Daniel Lee –Guitars
  • Micheal Mackert – Guitars
  • Jason Madison – Drums 



MySpace ReverbNationFacebook Twitter


You May Also Like