C-ROM – “Flames of Knowledge” (2009)


Label : Pervade Productions/Thundering Records

Review by Tony Cannella

France’s C-ROM released their debut CD “The Winding Star” in 2006 and now have returned with their second release “Flames of Knowledge”. The band has been described as Gothic Metal with electronic influences. I will admit that this band was an unknown entity to me until recently and I was a bit concerned about that musical description, but after listening to the CD my fears and doubts were put to rest. While there is a strong electronic element running through the songs, it doesn’t take away from the songs in any way. The songs and the music are still quite good and there are healthy servings of melody featured throughout the CD.  “Flames of Knowledge” contains 11-songs and 52-minutes worth of music. The overture, “Anger of the Gods” kicks things off with it’s methodical rhythms before getting progressively faster and heavier. This song has a slow build to it that is really cool and the vocals of Christelle are strong – aggressive male vocals are also included in this song. A great opening track. The next track “Temptation” begins Act I and is followed by “Narthex”. Other highlights include: “Awake”, “The Forge”, “Lord of Cinders” and the closing finale of “Mercy of the Gods”.“Flames of Knowledge” is a good CD that is a bit different from your average metal release. The songs are well written and C-ROM shows all the confidence of a veteran outfit.

Rating – 85/100


  1. Anger of the Gods (Overture)
  2. Temptation (Act I)
  3. Narthex
  4. Awake
  5. The Forge
  6. Prometheus
  7. Pandora (Act II)
  8. Lord of Cinders
  9. Choices
  10. Hope
  11. Mercy of the Gods (Finale)


Line Up

  • Christelle Muguet – Vocals
  • Cédric Leroy – Guitars
  • Christian Podkowska – Guitars
  • Françosi Labarre – Keyboards
  • Laurent Henniaux – Bass 
  • Axel Wursthorn – Percussions



MySpace Facebook  * Site

You May Also Like