Cadaveria – “Horror Metal” (2012)


Label : Bakerteam Records

Review by Luisa Mercier

After five years of silence, the Italian extreme metal band Cadaveria is back. They are quite an institution of the Italian scene with their trademark sound. The title of this record says it all: the atmosphere of “Horror Metal” are very dark, aggressive, straightforward and sometimes splatter. Cadaveria mixes clean, creepy vocals, growl and screams while the gloomy intro of “Flowers in Fire” kicks in. The track is quite slow paced, desperate and never boring. The album mingles death, black, doom, trash and some hint of gothic metal. So, you understand that being boring is difficult. Tracks like “Death Vision” and “The Days of After and Behind” are some of the highlights of the album. They linger on a thin line between doom and black metal, the guitarwork is really remarkable, courtesy of Frank Booth and Dick Laurent who create a dramatic and horrific mood. The album is very varied therefore you may find a song like “Whispers of Sin” which is really trashy and “in your face” (even though the guitars are melodic here and there) and another like “Assassin” with a symphonic intro, immediately smashed by violent guitars. “Apocalypse” recalls their old works with its death metal edge followed by “The Oracle (of The Fog)”, which is played between death metal and more melodic moments. The album is closed by the short “Hypnotic Psychosis”, another simple extreme metal song. I have to say that probably it was worth the wait, the record is good and rich in influences, so none of you will never get bored.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Flowers in Fire
  2. The Night’s Theatre
  3. Death Vision
  4. Whispers of Sin
  5. Assassin
  6. The Days of the After and Behind
  7. Apocalypse
  8. The Oracle (of the Fog)
  9. Requiem
  10. This Is Not the Silence
  11. Hypnotic Psychosis 


Line Up

  • Cadaveria – Vocals
  • Frank Booth – Guitar
  • Dick Laurent – Guitar
  • Killer Bob – Bass
  • Marçelo Santos – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like