Claudine – “Wrestling Consciousness” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Claudine Dentoni is a singer/songwriter based in California and she offers something far different than many of the Femme Metal artists out there today. In fact, I’m not sure if she fits into any of the genres we cover here. On her new album “Wrestling Consciousness” she offers up 15-songs and 1-hours worth of songs that sound radio friendly and made for mass consumption. Her songs straddle the territory occupied by Hard Rock and Pop music (with an edge, of course). At times she kind of reminds me of the great Canadian singer Sass Jordan (whatever happened to her?). First thing is, Claudine has a very like-able vocal style, it is raspy at times (à la Sass Jordan) and the songs have an uplifting quality about them. The opener of “Vice” is a melodic hard rock opener. “All I Want” continues in the same vein as the previous song, melodic and like-able but nothing spectacular. “Bleeding Hearts” slows the tempo down and Claudine sings her ‘heart’ out on this one. The album gets harder with “In the Ruins”. “Fallen Angel” is the first of many ballads. The next song “If I Ran to You” is far and away my favorite ballad here, this one is a keeper. Perhaps “Wrestling Consciousness” could have contained one (or two) fewer ballads – that’s just my opinion, I’m sure there are others who would disagree. My favorite moments are the rockier songs like the fast paced euphoria of “Play Me”, “You” and “Don’t Make a Sound”. “Wrestling Consciousness” also features some glossed over 80’s style polished rock songs like “Come On Over” which actually turned out to be one of my favorite songs. For the most part “Wrestling Consciousness” is good for what it is. It is basic, has a lot of heart and passion behind it. Perhaps it could be a little shorter as some of it seems to drag – especially on the many ballads. But still if you are looking for something to satisfy you in those quieter moments than “Wrestling Consciousness” would be a good album to chill to. I mean, you can’t bang your head all the time, can you?

Rating – 72/100



  1. Vice
  2. All I Want
  3. Bleeding Hearts
  4. In the Ruins
  5. Fallen Angel
  6. If I Ran to You
  7. Clouds
  8. Don’t Make a Sound
  9. You
  10. The Battle Rages On
  11. Stay
  12. Play Me
  13. Come On Over
  14. Hallelujah
  15. I Will Learn


Line Up

  • Claudine Dentoni – Vocals
  • Isaac Bolivar – Guitars
  • Jason Wall – Drums
  • Mark Kenoly – Bass



MySpace * ReverbNation * BandCamp * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like