Crimson Sky – “Rising” (2011)


Label : Black Art Productions

Review by Luisa Mercier

Crimson Sky is an Ukrainian band founded in 1998, but they started their real activity only recently. “Rising” is their debut album and I can tell you that it was worth the wait. They play a baroque gothic-doom metal rich in strings which reminds me of the old works of bands like Tristania or Theatre of Tragedy. Mixing their native tongue and English, they deliver a musical performance which is melodic and powerful at the same time. I was impressed by the violin skills of Lyudmyla, who is present in all the songs, maybe more than the keyboards. For this reason Crimson Sky slightly reminded me of The Sins of Thy Beloved. Worth mentioning are also the two vocalists, rather talented Bohdan is able to be dramatic and aggressive at the same time, while Olga fascinates us with her opera style. One of the highlight of “Rising” is doubtless “The Ode” which features all the characteristics previously mentioned, followed by the peaceful instrumental “Apoptsosis”. Strongly advised to lovers of old-school gothic metal!

Rating – 80/100



  1. Crimson Sky (Intro) 
  2. Примарний Сон – Illusive Dream    
  3. Хрест- The Cross   
  4. In Eyes of Mine    
  5. The Ode     
  6. απόπτωσις – Apoptosis
  7. Nord-lys 


Line Up

  • Olga Guziy – Female Vocals
  • Bohdan Torchylo – Vocals
  • Sergiy Medvid’ – Guitar
  • Olexiy Omel’chuk – Guitar
  • Lyudmyla Savchuk – Violin
  • Anatoliy Kyrilyuk – Keyboards
  • Ivan Fedorov – Bass
  • Dima Drum – Drums 



MySpace * Facebook

You May Also Like