Cryptic Age – “Homeland” EP (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

The UK’s Cryptic Age features a melding of several different metal genres, Folk, Symphonic, Progressive, Power and even a bit of Thrash are all represented on their new 5-song EP “Homeland”. The epic 8-minute opener “Homeland” gets us started. The soprano vocals of Jenny Green are quite powerful and effective. This song has a decidedly Symphonic Metal influence and even displays a little thrash metal near the end. The next track “On the Bare Cold Ground” starts off with a slower tempo before a slow, grinding metal riff comes in and the song transforms into a galloping metal track. Other highlights include: “Bring Down the Sky”, the instrumental “No Folkin’ Way” and the EP’s closing track “Paragons of War”. Kudos is definitely well deserved for Cryptic Age who manages to incorporate different influences while still being able to maintain a sense of coherency on “Homeland”.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Homeland
  2. On the Bare Cold Ground
  3. Bring Down the Sky
  4. No Folkin’ Way
  5. Paragons of War


Line Up

  • Jenny Green – Vocals & Keyboards
  • Hallam Smith – Guitar
  • Tom Keeley – Bass
  • Alex Brandsen – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNationFacebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like