Crystal Viper – “Metal Nation” RE-ISSUE (2012)


Label : AFM Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Originally released in 2009, “Metal Nation” is the second full-length album from Poland’s Crystal Viper. In my opinion, this is also the album where the band began hit their stride and establishes themselves as one of the lead bands in the traditional metal movement. Like their debut, “Metal Nation” has been re-released by the bands current label AFM with a ton of bonus material. Let’s face it, throughout their history Crystal Viper has not strayed too far from what they do best and that is one of the things we love about them, it doesn’t mean however that they don’t add a new twist or two along the way. “Metal Nation” opens with the intro “Breaking the Curse” and the band dives straight in with the ferocious title track. Yes indeed, classic metal is alive and well and played at a high quality by this band. “Bringer of the Light” is next and is one of my favorite songs the band has ever recorded. “1428”, “Zombie Lust” and “Legions of Truth” are more highlights. The bonus material includes: a cover of the Agent Steel song “Agents of Steel” and a cover of the Running Wild song “Libertalia”Crystal Viper has always chosen interesting songs to cover and these are no different. Some alternate versions of Crystal Viper songs are also included here. Crystal Viper is one of those bands that have such a strong catalogue of music that everyone who is a fan of the band has a favorite. “Metal Nation” is my favorite, but in the grand scheme of things, how do you choose a favorite from a band whose body of work is this strong? AFM put a lot of care into these re-releases and fans of the band should be pleased with them.

 Rating – 88/100



  1. Breaking the Curse
  2. Metal Nation
  3. Bringer of the Light
  4. 1428
  5. The Anvil of Hate
  6. Zombie Lust (Flesh Eaters)
  7. Her Crimson Tears
  8. Legions of Truth
  9. Gladiator: Die By the Blade (I-III)
  10. Agents of Steel (Agent Steel Cover)
  11. Axeman’s Revenge (Live intro 2008-2011)
  12. Metal Nation (Karaoke Version)
  13. The Banshee (2011 Version)
  14. The Anvil of Hate (Demo Version 2007)
  15. Bringer of the Light (Karaoke Version)
  16. Libertalia (Running Wild Cover)


Line Up

  • Marta Gabriel – Vocals, Keyboards and Piano
  • Andy Wave – Guitars
  • Tom Woryna – Bass
  • Golem – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like