Dakrya – “Crime Scene” (2010)


Label : Sensory Records

Review By Tony Cannella

From Greece comes the avant-garde metal band Dakrya. On their impressive 2008 debut, “Monumento”, Dakrya proved to be a difficult band to categorize and the same holds true on their new album “Crime Scene”. The bands style and influences are wide ranging and they manage to incorporate it all in a metal framework.Dakrya are a band that really does not set any boundaries or limitations on themselves and that much is certain on “Crime Scene”. The opening intro of “The Charlatans” kicks things off. This song is actually a straight-forward metal track, with a powerful guitar riff running throughout the duration of the song. “Blind Man’s Bluff” is a great sounding second track, as female vocalist Christina Kalantzi really stretches her vocal range throughout this one and this track also features a number of cool tempo changes. With all that is going on throughout their songs, Dakrya still manages to inject heavy doses of melodicism – which is always a plus in my book. Other songs worth checking out: “Scare Mongering”, the bombastic “The Urban Tribe”, “Camouflage” and “Phantasmagoria”. With “Crime Scene”, Dakrya has released an album that is both adventurous and challenging but in the end, the payoff is well worth it.

Rating – 80/100



  1. The Charlatans
  2. Blind Man’s Bluff
  3. Scare Mongering
  4. The Urban Tribe
  5. Camouflage
  6. Phantasmagoria
  7. Inertia
  8. Dramatis Personae
  9. A Dreadful Side Scene


Line Up

  • Christina Kalantzi – Vocals
  • Thomais Chatzigianni – Vocals
  • George Droulias – Guitars & Vocals
  • Angelos Charogiannis – Guitars
  • SophiaX – Keyboards
  • Alex Drake – Bass
  • Stavros Vorissis – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like