Damsel Fly – “What Lies Beneath” (2005)


Independent Release/Ravenheart Music

Review by Tony Cannella

Occasionally you come across a band that, although they have been around for a few years, are largely an unknown entity but never fail to impress. For me the Vancouver based band Damsel Fly were a huge shock – and in a good way. They play just good melodic hard rock, with songs that are in the 3-4 minute range that are immediate and instantly infectious. This album “What Lies Beneath” actually came out in 2006, but is just now getting a much deserved worldwide release via Ravenheart Music Records. The opening track “I Stay” hits you hard and fast and is a great opener. The next track “Nowhere” is one of my favorites and is just a great slab of melodic rock – especially in the chorus. Just a great song. “Let You Go” begins with a rapid fire like guitar riff and is one of the heavier songs that is offered here, yet it loses nothing in the way of it’s melodic charm that is evident throughout the 36-minutes worth of music on “What Lies Beneath”. Other highlights include: “Buried Alive”, “No Mercy”, “Lie to Me” and “Misfortune”All-in-all, “What Lies Beneath” is an extremely satisfying release from this great Canadien band. The songs are brimming with confidence and attitude and as a whole Damsel Fly have released an album that is very well done and should come as a welcomed addition to fans who love melodic hard rock.

Rating – 85/100



  1. I Stay
  2. Nowhere
  3. Let You Go
  4. Buried Alive
  5. Anyway
  6. Misfortune
  7. Broken
  8. No Mercy
  9. Lie to Me
  10. No Way Out

Line Up

  • Lisa – Vocals & Lead Guitar
  • Mike – Guitars
  • Mario – Bass 
  • Jared – Drums 



MySpace  * Site


You May Also Like