Decadence – “Chargepoint” (2009)

Label : Spirtual Beast/Universal

Review by Danny Robertson

Here we have “Chargepoint”, the latest album from Stockholm-based melodic thrashers Decadence that will be out on 14th October, their fourth album in total. If you like frantic, super-charged metal, this one is for you. Right from the opening track “Discharge”, this band begins to pummel and doesn’t let up for a second, piling on the riffs thick and fast. Frontwoman Kitty Saric‘s vocals are sometimes reminiscent of Arch Enemy‘s Angela Gossow and suit this brand of metal very well. There’s no shortage of solos either, courtesy of guitarist Kenneth Lantz, backed-up by a tight rhythm section. The track “Challenge” is one highlight, carrying a slight air of “Vulgar Display…”-era Pantera about it. It’s only on closing instrumental track “The Demons Run” that things take a slightly slower, but still riff-heavy, approach. Whether you’re already a fan of Decadence, or a newcomer, you won’t be disappointed by “Chargepoint”. This will also appeal to fans of Slayer, Arch Enemy, In Flames, or just good solid thrash!

Rating – 80/100



  1. Discharge
  2. Silent Weapon (For a Quiet War)
  3. Out of Ashes
  4. Point of No Return
  5. Strength of Mind
  6. Fast Forward
  7. Challenge
  8. Be Home When I’m Gone
  9. The Demons Run (Instrumental – Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Kitty Saric (aka Metallic Kitty) – Vocals
  • Kenneth Lantz – Guitar
  • Joakim Antman – Bass
  • Erik Röjås – Drums



You May Also Like