Disembrace – “Scratching the Surface” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

When one thinks of Memphis, Tennessee, metal is not the first form of music that comes to mind. Maybe, just maybe the band Disembrace will help change that perception with their debut album “Scratching the Surface”. First a little background on the band. They were formed in 2006, but really took flight when singer/songwriter Carmen LaFevers joined the fold in 2009. Their style is a beautiful mixture of Hard Rock and Metal, with strong melodies and heavy guitar riffs.The lead-off track “Hero” is a great, adrenaline fueled introduction. The riffs are simply huge and vocalist Carmen LaFevers style is smooth and crystal clear and she compliments the music wonderfully. “Beautiful” comes up next and the listener is greeted with more in-your-face guitar riffs as the song motors along like a freight train. “Dysphoria” starts off heavy before bringing the tempo down a bit, with the song getting heavier as it moves along. This would make a great single/video in my opinion. Vocalist Carmen La Fevers has a voice that you cannot help but love. Technically she may not be the best singer you will ever hear, but she packs tons of emotion and passion in her voice and it comes through loud and clear in the songs. Other highlights: “Killing Me Inside”, “Waiting”, “Breathe” and “Peace of Mind”. If you like heavy guitar driven music with strong vocals, then look no further than Disembrace and their debut “Scratching the Surface”.

Rating – 77/100



  1. Hero
  2. Beautiful
  3. Dysphoria
  4. Killing Me Inside
  5. Waiting
  6. The Everafter
  7. Play
  8. Breathe
  9. One More Pill
  10. Helium
  11. Peace of Mind
  12. Obsession


Line Up

  • Carmen LaFevers – Vocals
  • Mike Palvado – Guitar
  • Cody Hartsfield – Drums
  • Gerry Gonzales – Bass



MySpace * ReverbNationFacebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like