Downcast Art – “Downlight” EP (2009)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Downcast Art come from Croatia. Their current line-up includes: Iva Grdic (Vocals), Zdravko Smendorovac (Keyboards), Kristijan Radeka (Guitar), Tomislav Spanik (Bass) and Sasa Fajkovic (Drums). The band play symphonic power metal with powerful female vocals provided by Iva Grdic. It is this style that is on full display on their current 3-song demo. Although the total playing time is a mere 12-minutes long, their is plenty of substance and style packed into the 3-tracks. When introducing your band to the public it is always important to make a positive first impression. Track one “Miris Proslosti” does just that. It begins with some nice sounding orchestration as the song kicks in with some infectious riffs and some cool sounding piano work. Iva‘s vocals soon join in and she displays her operatic style that certainly has a haunting quality to it. This is a strong opening track that has a nice build up to it, and a great guitar solo by Kristijan Radeka. “Whisper of a Dying Rose” is next and it picks up right where the previous track left off – once again Iva Grdic is quite convincing with her vocals. The final track “Chants from the Deep” is an instrumental and it succeeds in allowing the male members of Downcast Art to shine. It moves along at a brisk pace and is a great closer. I think this song would sound great with vocals and lyrics as well.Overall this is quite a good effort from this band from Croatia. The production is solid and the performances are good. At only 12-minutes long, this 3-track demo is over in the blink-of-an-eye (or so it seems). That’s too bad, because the songs on this demo have a ton of potential and I would really love to hear what this band is capable on a full-length. Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long for some new music from Downcast Art.

Rating: 75/100



  1. Miris Proslosti
  2. Whisper of a Dying Rose
  3. Chants from the Deep


Line Up 

  • Iva Grdic – Vocals
  • Kristijan Radeka – Guitar
  • Zdravko Smendorovac – Keyboards
  • Tomislav Spanik – Bass
  • Saša Fajković – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNationFacebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like