Echoterra – “In Your Eyes” EP (2010)


Label : Blinding Force Recordings

Review By Tony Cannella

When it was announced that ex-Visions of Atlantis vocalist Melissa Ferlaak joined the ranks of Echoterra my interest in this project immediately piqued since Melissa sang on the great VOA release “Trinity”. Having said that, you can take nothing away from the bands previous singer Suvi Virtanen who did such an amazing job on the bands debut release “The Law of One”. Now the band are back with their new singer (Melissa) and a new drummer (Adam Sagan) and a new EP titled “In Your Eyes”, featuring a number of re-recorded songs with the bands new line-up.The first three songs from “In Your Eyes” are re-recorded from “The Law of One” debut. The new line-up has seemingly breathed new life into already great songs. Melissa‘s emotional vocal delivery remains in tact and all of that can be heard on “In Your Eyes”, “A Tear of Her Heart” and the highlight for me “Say, Try, Lie, Die”. I am not sure if the final two songs are just previously unreleased or brand-new songs but “Bear Mountain” and the closing instrumental “Echoterra Overture” fit in well with the other material. It is great hearing Melissa‘s beautiful vocals once again and after listening to “In Your Eyes” we can only hope that this version of Echoterra remains in tact for years to come and we get a full-length release of new material soon. When all is said and done, Echoterra have a great opportunity at being a huge success in the world of female fronted symphonic power metal.

Rating – 89/100



  1. In Your Eyes
  2. A Tear of Her Heart
  3. Say, Try, Lie, Die
  4. Bear Mountain (Orchestral Version)
  5. Echoterra Overture (Instrumental)


Line Up

  • Melissa Ferlaak – Vocals
  • Yan Leviathan – Guitars
  • Jonah W. – Keys, Piano, Orchestration, Pirate Vocals
  • Brian Hollenbeck – Bass, Vocals
  • Adam Sagan – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter

You May Also Like