Edenbridge – “Solitaire” (2010)


Label : Napalm Records

Review By Tony Cannella

It is hard to believe that the long running Austrian Symphonic Power Metal Band Edenbridge, released their debut album way back in 2000.  Now, 10-years later they are back with their 7th studio album, “Solitaire”. Edenbridge has certainly managed to evolve and progress throughout their career and with “Solitaire”, Lanvall, Sabine Edelsbacher and crew continue to move forward, while still maintaining all of the elements that has garnered the band such a loyal following over the years. Beginning with the ultra-symphonic intro, “Entrée Unique”, Edenbridge proves that they are in fine form as “Solitaire” kicks in. The first single/video (you can view it at their official YouTube) is “Higher” and it was a solid choice of songs to make a video for. “Skyline’s End” is perhaps my favorite song on this CD and would make a great choice for a second video. The band do a fantastic job of mixing their symphonic style with heavy and powerful guitar riffs, a perfect example of this the fast tempo track, “Further Afield”.  Other highlights include: “Bon Voyage Vagabond”, “Come Undone” and “A Virtual Dream”, a fast paced track that is driven by the always stellar guitar/vocal combination of Lanvall and Sabine Edelsbacher. With “Solitaire”, Edenbridge have released an album is quite possibly the finest and most consistent of their already impressive career. To say something is the best is simply subjective, but I am quite confident that fans of this Austrian band will love “Solitaire”.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Entrée Unique
  2. Solitaire
  3. Higher
  4. Skyline’s End
  5. Bon Voyage Vagabond
  6. Come Undone
  7. Out of This World
  8. Further Afield
  9. A Virtual Dream
  10. Brothers Diamir
  11. Exit Unique

Line Up

  • Sabine Edelsbacher – Lead Vocals
  • Lanvall – Lead, Rhythm & Acoustic Guitars, Bass, Keyboards, Piano, Bouzouki & Mandolin
  • Dominik Sebastian – Rhythm & Lead Guitars
  • Max Pointner – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like