Eerie Sounds Review : ElfenWard – “Part I” (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Luisa Mercier

ElfenWald are an Italian duo who delivers us a very interesting self-released debut album. “Part I” blends industrial, ambient and neoclassical music with the dark and beautiful voice of Prinzessin Simhild. Though self-produced, the record does not suffer many flaws and it seems to be well crafted in every detail. The songs shift from German to English and Italian language with an equally effective result. For instance, “Wo Ist Meine Welt” is more industrial-oriented while “Gelide Notti” is closer to neoclassical style with its keyboards and strings, creating a Romantic atmosphere. “Darkness” is a soaring, creepy track, mostly instrumental and only graced by some vocalization of Prinzessin Simhild. “Alone” is the longest song on the album and during its seven minuts it explores various musical landscapes: from neoclassical, to dark cabaret, to a gloomy industrial sound. “Lilith (The Garden of the Damned)” closes “Part I” and it’s a track which showcases a fearsome atmosphere with some choruses all over which surround the beautiful voice of Simhild. Being self-produced, this album is overall a very good release and I hope they’ll soon find a label for their following works!

Rating – 80/100



  1. Intro
  2. Wo ist meine Welt
  3. Gelida notte
  4. Darkness
  5. Alone
  6. Lilith (The Garden of the Damned)


Line Up

  • Prinzessin Simhild – Vocals
  • Erik Der Rote – Keybooards & synths 



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter 


You May Also Like