Eerie Sounds Review : Lacrimosa – “Revolution” (2012)


Label : Hall of Sermon

Review by Luisa Mercier

Eleventh record for the legendary Lacrimosa, a true foundation for gothic lovers. Over the years they went from darkwave to a heavier sound and this album may be their heaviest til now, also because it features the frontman of Kreator Mille Petrozza and Stefan Schwarzmann, Accept drummer. “Revolution” is a mix of styles with a metal edge: we find complex and elegant piano and keyboards arrangements with some electro hints, a solid drumming department and a guitar that is quite raw.The melody has to be found also in Anne and Tilo vocals. Her voice is ethereal, warm with a Celtic flavor sometimes (“As the World Stood Still for a Day“). Tilo‘s vocals (supportrd by Mille at times) are more like a knife, colder, solemn like in a play. Despite the stylistic melting-pot (“Verloren” is an example), the record is very enjoyable, there are no dull moments or tracks that are not good, even the long “Rote Sinfonie” does not invite you to skip it. Another thing I would like to point out is the production: it was good for piano, keyboards and vocals; really crystal clear, while guitars, bass and drums are a bit confused. Nonetheless the record will be appreciated by Lacrimosa fans (maybe the less extremist ones) and by people that are trying to approach their music coming from a metal background.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Irgendein Arsch Ist Immer Unterwegs
  2. If The World Stood Still A Day
  3. Verloren
  4. This Is The Night
  5. Interlude – Feuerzeug (Part 1)
  6. Feuerzeug (Part 2)
  7. Refugium
  8. Weil Du Hilfe Brauchst
  9. Rote Sinfonie
  10. Revolution 


Line Up

  • Tilo Wolff – Vocals & keyboards
  • Anne Nurmi – Vocals & keyboards
  • Mille Petrozza – Vocals
  • Henrik Flyman – Guitars
  • Jens “Yenz Leonhardt” Arnsted – Bass
  • Stefan Schwarzmann – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like