Eerie Sounds Review : Tarja Turunen & Harus – “In Concert – Live at Sibelius Hall” (2011)


Label : earMusic

Review by Luisa Mercier

Harus is a side project of Tarja, former Nightwish singer, founded to rearrange classical tracks in a more modern way together with other musicians (guitar player, organ player and percussionist). The live is opened by “Arkihoulesi Kaikki Heitä”  driven by guitars and Tarja‘s vocals and it is followed by two “Ave Maria”, the first by Luzzi and the second by Harus. This one is definitely darker and led by a melancholic melody in addition to Tarja‘s vocalising and highlighted by the final organ. “Varpunen Jouluaamuna” has an interesting instrumental made by keyboard and xylophon that convey dark and moody atmopheres. Equally creepy is “Astral Bells”, a completely instrumental song played by xylophon, a hint of electronics and some guitars. So it is much more than an interlude, maybe one of the best songs on the record. “You Would Have Loved This” is a song written by Tarja for her mother and already performed live several times. She is particularly sweet and expressive and dramatic. Song before the last is “Walking in The Air”, already known to all Nightwish fans and here proposed with a more ethereal, eerie arrangement. The album is closed by a baroque outro: “Improvisation – Variations sur Noel”, really lovely I have to say. If you are a Tarja fan, you will appreciate this release for sure, otherwise I would advice to stick to old Nightwish records.

Rating – 70/100



  1. Arkihoulesi Kaikki Heitä
  2. Ave Maria Op. 80
  3. Ave Maria
  4. Maa On Niin Kaunis 
  5. Varpunen Jouluaamuna
  6. Heinillä Härkien
  7. En Etsi Valtaa Loistoa
  8. Jouluyö, Juhlayö (Silent Night)
  9. Astral Bells
  10. You Would Have Loved This
  11. Walking in the Air
  12. Improvisation: Variations Sur Un Noël (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Tarja Turunen – Vocals
  • Marzi Nyman – Guitar
  • Kalevi Kiviniemi – Organ
  • Marku Krohn – Percussion



Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like