Eklipse – “A Night in Strings” (2012)


Label : AFM Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Now for something complete different. Eklipse are a German string quartet who gives their special treatment to some modern rock and pop songs, some well known, others are not. Eklipse really are not a metal band; however they have been chosen to open for Nightwish, which is a cool thing. Whether you like the songs chosen or not, Eklipse has certainly breathed new life into some of the material. The members of Eklipse portray a sexy image and there is always the danger that it might overshadow the music. I don’t think that’s the case at all on “A Night of Strings”. The band offers their takes on such songs as “Wonderful Life”, Linkin Park’s “In the End”, “Cry Me a River” by Justin Timberlake (which the band also made a video out of) and “Paparazzi” by Lady Gaga. Eklipse gives the songs a melancholic twist. Of course this is not music to band your head to; it’s more or less something that you can chill out to. I don’t know how this will go over with a metal audience, but it is still quite different than what the metal community is used to. The four musicians who make up Eklipse are obviously very talented. It would be interesting to see how their music translates into a live setting. It might be appealing to hear Eklipse cover more traditional metal songs, or even write their own material at some point, and one or two guest vocalists wouldn’t hurt either. Wherever they go from here, Eklipse has definitely put their own stamp on some well known songs.

Rating – 79/100



  1. Wonderful Life (Hurts)
  2. In the End (Linkin Park)
  3. New Moon Theme
  4. Home (Depeche Mode)
  5. Cry Me a River (Justin Timberlake)
  6. Cloudbusting (Kate Bush)
  7. Paparazzi  (Lady Gaga)
  8. Run (Snow Patrol)
  9. Mumbai (Bombay OST)
  10. Clocks (Coldplay)

Line Up

  • Cello 
  • Viola 
  • Violin
  • Violin



Facebook * Site

You May Also Like