Ellyose – “Théogyne” DEMO (2009)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

From France, Ellyose plays dark, symphonic metal with elements of electronic and other modern music influences on display. The band, fronted by Justine Daaé has just issued their excellent debut demo “Théogyne”. The hard-driving opener “Théogyne” gets the ball rolling and sets a positive tempo for what is to follow. The next track “L’émancipee” has a strong orchestral vibe to it at the beginning and quickly developes into a dramatic metal tune that showcases the passionate operatic vocals of Justine Daaé. Most of the lyrics are sung in Ellyose’s native French and the album features some interesting twists and turns throughout the half hours worth of music on “Théogyne”. The 8-minute “Wine from Sick” begins with piano and is a melonchic mournful track that quickens in tempo as the song progresses, this song quickly became a huge favorite; some extreme male vocals are also present here. “Elévation Binaire” and “Mirri Dancers” are two more highlights. The album closes with a cover of the Andrew Lloyd Weber classic “The Phantom of Opera”. Ellyose are another great band to hail from France. “Théogyne” is a strong metal album that really sets a high standard for Ellyose.

Rating – 89/100



  1. Théogyne
  2. L’émancipee
  3. Wine from Sick
  4. Elévation Binaire
  5. Mirri Dancers
  6. The Phantom of the Opera


Line Up

  • Justine Daaé – Vocals
  • Arnaud Pfliger – Guitar
  • Ghislain Henry – Bass
  • Christian Chichkine – Drums 


MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook

You May Also Like