Eluveitie – “Everything Remains (As It Never Was)” (2010)


Label : Nuclear Blast Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Switzerland’s Eluveitie play Pagan, Folk Metal with touches Celtic music present as well. They have just released their fourth full-length album, titled “Everything Remains (As It Never Was)”. The band utilize various non traditional metal instruments such as Violins, Mandolin, Bagpipe, Hurdy Gurdy and more, they combine that with the more known metal instrumentation to create a cool folk-metal release. The band is fronted by male singer Chrigel Glanzmann. He has a harsh sounding voice that is well produced and you can pretty much understand every word he is singing. The Female vocals are provided by Anna Murphy who also plays the Hurdy Gurdy. The majority of the vocals are provided by Chrigel with Anna providing a ‘supporting vocal role’ on a couple of the songs. The band features eight members in their line-up and it all adds up to a big sound on “Everything Remains”. “Everything Remains…” features it’s fair share of crunchy riffs, aggressive musicianship and pure folk metal. That style can be heard on such songs as: the title track “Everything Remains (As It Never Was)”, “Thousandfold”, “(Do) Minion” and my favorite track “Quoth the Raven”. It’s all pretty good stuff that their fans should love and hopefully this CD will earn Eluveitie some well deserved new fans as well. When it’s all done “Everything Remains…” features 13-songs and 47-minutes worth of some of the best qualities of Folk Metal music that is out there. The band really has released a solid album that is a perfect edition to the Folk Metal genre.

Rating – 87/100



  1. Otherworld
  2. Everything Remains (As It Never Was)
  3. Thousandfold
  4. Nil
  5. The Essence of the Ashes
  6. Isara
  7. Kingdom Come Undone
  8. Quoth the Raven
  9. (Do)Minion
  10. Setlon
  11. Sempiternal Embers
  12. Lugdunon
  13. The Liminal Passage 


Line Up

  • Chrigel Glanzmann – Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Mandolin, Uilleann Pipes, Bodhran, Tin & Low Whistles, Gaita
  • Ivo Henzi – Guitar
  • Simeon Koch – Guitar
  • Pade Kistler – Bagpipe, Whistles
  • Meri Tadic – Fiddle & Vocals
  • Anna Murphy – Hurdy Gurdy & Vocals
  • Kay Brem – Bass
  • Merlin Sutter – Drums



MySpace Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like