Elysion – “Silent Scream” (2009)


Label : Massacre Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Elysion from Greece are another solid band added to the Massacre Records roster of bands. They have just issued their debut, “Silent Scream” and although they are generally described as a Goth band, I hear different nuances and styles in their sound, but at the core Elysion play pretty much straight-forward melodic metal with a high accessibility factor. With 10-songs and about 45-minutes worth of material, “Silent Scream” is a very good debut and the vocals of Christianna are definitely strong, passionate and powerful.The opening track “Dreamer” chimes in, before giving way to some pretty heavy guitar riffs and settles into more of a laid back groove. The vocals of Christianna are nothing short of phenomenal and quite energetic. She has a definite commercial appeal to her voice, similar in tone to the likes of Amy Lee of Evanescence and Cristina Scabbia of Lacuna Coil. Overall her voice is very appealing and like-able. The very melodic and catchy “Killing My Dreams” is next and it is really aided by a hugely infectious chorus, another great track. The CD continues along a consistent path with the following songs: “Never Forever”, “Weakness in Your Eyes” and “The Rules”. “Far from the Edge” slows things down a bit (not in quality, but in style), it is a great ballad that really stands out among all of the great moments on “Silent Scream” and the atmospheric “Erase Me” ends things perfectly.The songs on “Silent Scream” are so unrelenting and infectious that I had a hard time finding any fault at all with this CD. The sound and production is excellent and the band worked with American engineer Ted Jensen. In the end, the material on “Silent Scream” is impossible not to like and just keeps me coming back for more, again and again. Kudos to Massacre for signing this band and getting their music out there.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Dreamer
  2. Killing My Dreams
  3. Never Forever
  4. Weakness in Your Eyes
  5. Don’t Say a Word
  6. The Rules
  7. Bleeding
  8. Walk Away
  9. Loss
  10. Far from the Edge
  11. Erase Me


Line Up 

  • Christianna – Vocals
  • Johnny Zero – Guitars, Synths & Programming
  • FXF – Bass
  • Petros Fatis – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like