Embassy of Silence – “Euphorialight” (2010)


Label : Supernova Records

Review By Tony Cannella

Okay, so here is another band that I knew absolutely nothing about but after one listen, I was floored. They are Embassy of Silence from Finland and they play Gothic Metal (I suppose) but really I would classify them as just a good melodic metal band. Their full-length debut – out now – is titled “Euphorialight” and in addition to Gothic influences, the album also features elements of Progressive metal and classic metal influences as well. The knock on metal from so called “critics” (wanna be elitists, I say) has always been that the art form is too limiting, too stale, well, that could not be further from the truth. When you have bands like Embassy of Silence for example, you realize just how broad the metal landscape is. And it has never looked better. From the very first track, the melodically charged “Soul-Broken”, I was immediately enthralled. But Embassy of Silence is only getting warmed up as “I Ride Alone” (my favorite track) and “Passion and Savagery” prove. The highlights just keep on coming: “Catherine and Heathcliff”, “Baron Samedi”, “Absinthe Eyes, Opium Words” and “Maneater” (an homage to “Silence of the Lambs” ?) are all worthy of repeated listening. “Void” is a great track that starts out as a ballad but evolves into a fantastic mid-tempo number.  Lead vocalist Ines Lukkanen has done a great job and turned in an excellent performance throughout the 55-minutes worth of music supplied on. With “Euphorialight”, Embassy of Silence proves that they mean serious business. Embassy of Silence seems poised to add to the rich legacy of Finnish metal. By the time “Euphorialight” comes to its conclusion, I am speechless, just an all around great album.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Soul-Broken
  2. I Ride Alone
  3. Passion and Savagery
  4. Baron Samedi
  5. Absinthe Eyes, Opium Words
  6. Deadline Playtime
  7. Catherine and Heathcliff
  8. ManeaterVoid
  9. The Mercury Lamp
  10. Euphorialight 


Line Up

  • Ines Lukkanen – Vocals
  • Tero Kalliomäki – Guitars
  • Jarno Suodenjoki – Guitar 
  • Harri Koskela – Keyboards
  • Samu Lahtinen – Bass
  • Jaakko Hauru – Drums 



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like