Embrace of Disharmony – “Whispers from the Edge of Nowhere” EP (2010)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Italy’s Embrace of Disharmony first formed in 2006 and their inception was followed shortly after by a 4-song demo. They have just released their debut EP titled, “Whispers from the Edge of Nowhere” and it features 5-songs and 27-minutes worth of Progressive Metal with some Goth-like overtones. Embrace of Disharmony is fronted by the male/female vocal tandem of Gabriele Vendittelli and Gloria Zanotti. The opening track “Hades” quickly became a favorite, beginning with a heavy bass opening and a Black Sabbath style guitar riff that drives the song, a cool Uriah Heep-like organ part in the middle of the song is also a plus. The next track “Visions in Dream” opens with a fierce riff and some cool instrumentation provided by the musicians, before the singers come in to provide some truly powerful vocals. The instrumental “Sleeping Faith” leads us into the 7-minute opus “Dirge on a Soul Staring at the Stars”; this is once again led by a ferocious guitar riff. “A Descent into the Maelstrom” completes the EP and opens with a narrative intro. Despite the fact that this song is only about 5-minutes in length it has the feel of an epic, thanks to some cool orchestration and just a big sound in general. With “Whispers from the Edge of Nowhere”, Embrace of Disharmony should please fans who love Progressive music mixed with healthy doses of heaviness and aggression.

Rating – 73/100



  1. Hades
  2. Visions in a Dream
  3. Sleeping Faith
  4. Dirge on a Soul Staring at the Stars
  5. A Descent Into the Maelstrom


Line Up 

  • Gloria Zanotti – Female Vocals
  • Gabriele Vendittelli – Male Vocals
  • Matteo Salvarezza – Guitar
  • Riccardo Piergiovanni – Keyboards
  • Leonardo Barcaroli – Bass
  • Alessandro Santilli – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook

You May Also Like