Enemy Star – “Light It Up” (2010)


Label : Lethal Venom Records

Review by Tony Cannella

From Wisconsin comes the 4-piece female fronted metal outfit Enemy Star. Their debut album, “Light It Up” features a playing time of 56-minutes and 14-songs. Their music has been described as Melodic Power Metal, but within the course of “Light It Up” it becomes apparent that Enemy Star offers so much more. The songs have a certain melodic charm to them, complete with memorable hook-laden choruses and the huge vocals of Kassandra Gruszkowski front and center. The instantly like-able riff of the opening tune “The Hunger” kicks in and provides a solid opener to get things rolling. Also like-able is Kassandra Gruszkowski’s voice. She’s got a classical style, yet still manages to strike just the right tone with her voice. Her vocals aren’t over-the-top or too overly dramatic, they fit the songs perfectly and contribute to the overall melodic energy that the band creates. And there is plenty of melody to be had amongst these 14-songs. The next track “Heroes” has a bit of a heavy pop feel to it. Other songs of note: “Six Feet Shuffle”, “The Next Big Thing”, “I Will Stand”, “If She Says I Love U”, “Rock Star Requiem (Die)” and “It’s Not Fair” which opens with an aggressive Motorhead-like opening riff before settling into a grinding track and instantly becoming one of my absolute favorites. It is obvious that Enemy Star has something different to offer in the lyrical department as well. On “Light It Up” Enemy Star delivers a fine, rocking, technical and powerhouse gem of a debut CD. Far be it for me to predict great things for a band, but if there is any justice in the metal world, Enemy Star will ascend to bigger and better heights in the realm of metal.

Rating – 90/100



  1. The Hunger
  2. Heroes
  3. Six Feet Shuffle
  4. It’s Not Fair
  5. If She Says I Love U
  6. The Next Big Thing
  7. I Will Stand
  8. Bury Your Soul
  9. Help
  10. Rock Star Requiem (Die)
  11. To You
  12. No Apologies
  13. We Are the Ones
  14. Everything I Am


Line Up

  • Kassandra “Kassy” Gruszkowski – Vocals
  • Paris Ortiz – Guitar
  • Dave Benton – Bass



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook

You May Also Like