Enoria – “Enoria” (2010)


Independent Release

Review By Tony Cannella

So, is Progressive Gothic Metal a new genre?  I am not sure if it is or isn’t, but that is how I would describe the Swiss band Enoria. Musically the band has got a dark, foreboding quality to them, yet still packs the musical expertise of a well polished progressive band. Enoria formed in 2003 and in 2006 with the arrival of vocalist Marie, their line-up was complete. Earlier this year Enoria released their self-titled debut and here it is in all its Progressive Gothic Metal glory.The opener of “Life Has Left You” sets the tone, with its heavy classic metal style riffs and the soaring vocals of Maria. This track also is one of the few to feature male vocals. The next track “Boarding” continues in a similar vein but also displays a bit of a progressive metal influence to it. Other highlights include: “Spiral of Life”, “Between Two Worlds” and “Revealed Truth” all of the songs have one thing in common, the impressive vocal range of Maria. Musically, Enoria has a lot going for them as well, as the heavy Black Sabbath style riffs in “The Sentinel” will attest to. The utilizing of keyboards is also well done and adds a lot to Enoria’s sound. In listening to Enoria it is easy to see the promise that this talented Swiss band possesses. Enoria has recorded an enjoyable debut outing and the first of many more to come, I am sure. 

Rating – 78/100



  1. Life Has Left You
  2. Boarding
  3. Spiral of Life
  4. Emptiness
  5. The Sentinel
  6. Vertical Trap
  7. Between Two Worlds
  8. Revealed Truth
  9. Impulses
  10. The Finger of Anger
  11. Eternal Sleep
  12. Ultimate Solution
  13. Time Flies by (Outro)


Line Up

  • Marie Jaermann – Vocals
  • Christophe Hurni – Guitar, Bass
  • Pascal Iafetti – Guitar
  • Sylvain Barbier – Keyboards
  • Fabrice Pause – Drums 



MySpace * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like