Epica – “Requiem for the Indifferent” (2012)


Label : Nuclear Blast Records

Review by Tony Cannella

Whether you like them or don’t, the one thing that you have to admire about Epica is that they never ‘half-ass’ it. Not when it comes to the song writing, lyrics, production and overall presentation of their new material; they are all-in. Their albums are always packed to the fullest and that trend continues on their newest album “Requiem for the Indifferent”, which features 14-songs and a playing time of 77-minutes. There is something to be said for knowing what you are going to get from a favorite band and Epica is one such band that delivers on what their fans have come to expect. Not that they are predictable or contrived, but you know you are going to get quality as well as quantity. “Requiem for the Indifferent” sets the scene with the opening intro “Karma – Prelude” and leads into the blistering – and dare I say awesome, “Monopoly on Truth”. Simone Simons sounds great as always and delivers another awe inspiring performance, as does extreme growler/screamer Mark Jansen –but in a different way of course. Next is the equally potent yet more subdued and accessible “Storm the Sorrow” which the band shot a video for. “Requiem for the Indifferent” is classic Epica mixing grandiose, symphonic epic songs with shorter, more easily digestible material. Probably the crowning achievement on this here release is the 10-minute “Serenade or Self-Destruction”. This song is like a musical journey with peaks, valleys and tempo changes. It is what is great about Epica crammed into 10-minutes; it may actually be their most ambitious song to date. The rest of the album is not bad either: “Delirium”, “Internal Warfare” and the 8 ½ minute title song should please long time fans and new ones alike. So, is this the best Epica album ever? I would never say that, but it sure as heck stacks right up there with their best work. I love the new Epica album and I think it rates right up there with the rest of their audio outputs. “Requiem for the Indifferent” seems to follow the same blueprint that the band has used over the years, but hey, it works and the band continues to fire on all cylinders, and deliver their music with a sincerity and passion that cannot be faked.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Karma – Prelude
  2. Monopoly on Truth
  3. Storm the Sorrow
  4. Delirium
  5. Internal Warfare
  6. Requiem for the Indifferent
  7. Anima – Interlude
  8. Guilty Demeanor
  9. Deep Water Horizon
  10. Stay the Course
  11. Deter the Tyrant
  12. Avalanche
  13. Serenade of Self-Destruction
  14. Twin Flames (Soundtrack Version)


Line Up

  • Simone Simons – Vocals
  • Mark Jansen – Rhythm Guitars, Grunts & Screams
  • Isaac Delahaye – Lead Guitars
  • Coen Janssen – Synths & Piano
  • Yves Huts – Bass
  • Arien van Weesenbeek – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Google Plus * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like