Epsylon – “The Gift” (2008)


Independent Release

Review by Jon Estelle

Epsylon combines the creative forces of multi-instrumentalist Yves Vermeersch and singer/lyricist Sylvie Boisieux. Based out of Belgium, the duo came together in 2006 to begin writing music. Towards the end of 2008 their efforts came together with the release of their debut album, “The Gift”. Heather Shockley (Rock Ignition – vocals), Jan S. Eckert (Masterplan – bass/vocals), and Jeroen Simons (ex-Epica, drums) were also brought in to make guest appearances on the album. The thing that really stands out throughout the course of the album is the diversity from track to track. The band takes a different route from a lot of power metal bands and varies their sound up a lot. Rather then being over the top, the sound is also a bit quieter and simple. The formula works really well and kept me listening the whole way through. There is never a predictable pattern and it kept me drawn in, wondering what I would find around the next corner. One of the highlights of the album comes at the start with “Liar”. Here Boisieux and Eckert bounce vocals off each other and show of the versatility of the band’s sound. The eleven songs are filled with many more highlights. “Forever Angel” is another song featuring Eckert‘s vocals alongside of Boisieux, but as a more peaceful duet. “Devil Incarnated” features some stronger power metal vibes. These are a few of the moments that stood out to me the most. The rest of the songs are just as enjoyable. Fans of bands such as Epica, Within Temptation or Ayreon will feel right at home throughout the entire album. The CD itself is packaged very professionally. The booklet inside is long and contains interesting artwork on each page. “The Gift”  is a very ambitious album with a lot poured into it. Epsylon managed to deliver on most parts, making this album well worth picking up. It is an interesting take on the power metal genre that should not be overlooked. Finding a unique balance, variation and chemistry within a two member band is often a rarity. If future efforts from the band are just as good their debut (or even better) we should be in for something special.

Rating – 85/100



  1. Ascension
  2. Liar
  3. Broken Dreams
  4. Forever Angel
  5. Journey of Sacrifice
  6. The Pirate
  7. Between Darkenss & Light
  8. Masquerade
  9. Legacy
  10. Devil Incarnated
  11. First Cry


Line Up

  • Sylvie Boisieux – Vocals
  • Yves Vermeersch – Guitars,Bass, Keys & Arrangements
  • Heather Shockley – Vocals (Special Guest) 
  • Jan S.Eckert – Vocals & Bass (Special Guest) 
  • Jeroen Simons (Special Guest) – Drums  



MySpace * Site

You May Also Like