Independent Release/Ravenheart Music

Review By Tony Cannella

From The Netherlands, Evil’s Desire plays symphonic metal and features the operatic vocals of Daphne Gobius du Sart. In addition to du Sart, she is occasionally joined throughout the disc by clean male vocals, but the majority of the vocal work is handled by Daphne. Their debut album is titled “Initium” and it is a dramatic, epic debut from this Dutch band. The brief intro sets a definite mood for what is to follow, as that segues into the opener “Red Death”. This track features the vocals of Daphne in combination with some clean male vocals. The pacing of the songs on “Initium” is pretty much mid-tempo all the way through and the band rarely deviates from that style. My favorite song would have to be the mid-tempo, “Destructive Union”. This song has just a great pace all the way through, and some excellent lyrics dealing with a combative relationship. The next track “Ego” starts off with the male vocals as Daphne soon joins in. Other highlights include: “Mountain of Fate”, “True Lies”, “Perfection”, “The Outcast” and “Acceptance”. Another thing that I really liked about this band, were the lyrics which definitely make for some interesting reading and are also a perfect complement to the classy music that is being performed. There is a Dramatic aspect of Evil’s Desire that is very appealing and interesting. “Initium” by Evil’s Desire is certainly an impressive debut that will no doubt be a pleasing addition to the fans of the Symphonic Metal genre.

Rating – 83/100



  1. Intro
  2. Red Death
  3. Mountain of Fate
  4. True Lies
  5. Ignorance
  6. Destructive Union
  7. Ego
  8. Nemesis
  9. Perfection
  10. The Outcast
  11. Acceptance


Line Up

  • Daphne Gobius du Sart – Vocals
  • Eric Mol – Lead Guitar & Backing Vocals
  • Johan Seinen – Synthesizer
  • Vincent Reedijk – Bass
  • Gert-Jan Mulder – Drums



MySpace * Facebook * Site

Latest posts by Miriam Cadoni (see all)