FeedForward – “Barefoot & Naked” (2007)


Label : Rusty Cage Records

Review by Danny Robertson

One of the first things you’ll notice about this CD is the power of frontwoman Biejanka‘s voice, whom sadly has left the band since the release of this CD. Whether subtle or soaring, Biejanka sings here with a level of complete clarity, something which so many bands are missing, putting her into similar territory to Lacuna Coil‘s Cristina Scabbia and Anneke van Giersbergen, formerly of doom metal-turned-progressive rock dutch act The Gathering. This band also comes from similar territory to The Gathering musically too, combining heavy riffs with thoughtfully arranged melodic, progressive passages, though also throwing in some 70s rock and 80s pop influences thoughout the album. “Barefoot & Naked”‘s opener “Fade Away” gets you hooked right from the beginning, with proceeding material continuing to pull the listenner in, with stand-out tracks including the soothing “Crossing the Line”, the rockier “Before I Leave” and closing track “Stop To Think”. Instantly accessible and very addictive, “Barefoot & Naked” is highly recommended, and raises hopes for future material. This would appeal to fans of The Gathering, Evanescence, Rush and Queensryche.

Rating – 90/100



  1. Fade Away
  2. Run the Race
  3. Crossing the Line
  4. Innocence
  5. 143
  6. Our Sky (For One Time)
  7. Before I Leave
  8. Silent
  9. Moving 
  10. Stop to Think


Line Up

  • Biejanka – Vocals
  • Job – Keyboards
  • Mario – Guitars
  • Jan – Bass
  • Pi – Drums, Backing Vocals



MySpace * FacebookSite

You May Also Like