Flyleaf – “New Horizons” (2012)


Label : A&M/Octone

Review by Tony Cannella

On their 3rd album, “New Horizons” the American alternative hard rock band Flyleaf delivers more of their brand of infectiously melodic songs with both a punk and hard pop rock edge to them. With a playing time of 36-minutes long, Flyleaf wastes little time in getting into it. From the opener “Fire Fire” to the closing track “Broken Wings”, “New Horizons” should hold a lot of appeal to longtime fans of the band. Songs like “New Horizons”, “Call You Out” and “Saving Grace” are straight-forward hard rocking songs, which remind me a bit of a heavier version of Paramore. I’m sure that they’ve heard that comparison before, but there is enough here that should separate Flyleaf from bands of their ilk and place them in their own category. The band has been labeled a Christian rock band in the past, due to some of their lyrical subject matter, but their religious leanings definitely don’t overshadow the music and they don’t come across as preachy. “New Horizons” is probably an appropriate title and is bittersweet for fans of the band. Prior to the album’s release, lead vocalist Lacey Sturm departed the band and has since been replaced by Kristen May formerly of the band Vedara. Only time will tell if they can maintain the same high level that their fans are accustomed to. I bet they will.

 Rating – 76/100



  1. Fire Fire
  2. New Horizons
  3. Call You Out
  4. Cage on the Ground
  5. Great Love
  6. Bury Your Heart
  7. Freedom
  8. Saving Grace
  9. Stand
  10. Green Heart
  11. Broken Wings


Line Up

  • Lacey Sturm – Lead Vocals
  • Sameer Bhattacharya – Guitars & Vocals
  • Jared Hartmann – Guitar
  • Pat Seals – Bass & Vocals
  • James Culpepper – Drums



Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like