Gone Til Winter – “The First Season” COMPILATION (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

Formed in 2002, the UK based metal band Gone Til Winter has released a single, an EP and this 31-minute mini-album “The First Season”. It is a mix of newer material combined with acoustic tracks. The opening tune “Solemnise” starts off with Gone Til Winter’s trademark chunky guitar riffs over a pounding metal rhythm. Talena Cuthbert has got a voice that just oozes with heart and passion and that is quite evident from the first song. “Heat Signal” is quite excellent as well, and starts off with a huge guitar riff. Other highlights: “Kill Me”, “Utopia” and “Deep Sleep”. The acoustic portion of the CD comes next. The three acoustic songs are: “Distant Places”, “Release” and “Constant Retreat”, the original version of this song can be heard on their self-titled EP. “The First Season” is an interesting release that shows different facets to Gone Til Winter. They can do more than just head bang, they can also slow things down a bit a still put out some quality material.

Rating – 75/100



  1. Solemnise
  2. Heat Signal
  3. Kill Me
  4. Utopia
  5. Deep Sleep
  6. Distant Places (acoustic)
  7. Release (acoustic)
  8. Constant Retreat (acoustic)


Line Up

  • Talena Cuthbert – Vocals
  • Jonathan Gruzelier – Guitar
  • Rosie Smith – Keyboards
  • Shirezy – Bass
  • Ollie Peyton – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site


You May Also Like