Haggard – “Eppur Si Muove” (2004)


Label : Artoffact Records

Review by Tony Cannella

The German band Haggard recently had two of their CDs re-issued by Artoffact Records. Good thing too, because otherwise I would never have gotten the chance to check out this seminal band. “Eppur Si Muove” originally was released in 2004 and it was the bands third release. It is a concept album based around the life of Italian Astronomer Galileo. Of course, one thing you’ll notice is that Haggard is a huge band, maybe not in terms of success but the band/orchestra features about 20-members. The impressive thing is that frontman and band visionary Asis Nasseri really makes it all come together to create a sterling piece of art. The total playing is 50-minutes and 10-songs. The opening “All’Inizio è La Morte” is a strong orchestral/symphonic opener that features male extreme vocals along with female operatic vocals. The band utilize many different instruments that are often associated with with a symphony or orchestra and different vocal styles (male and female) are present throughout this recording as well. There are plenty of complex songs featured including “Minuetto In Fa-Minore”, “Of a Might Divine” and one of the many highlights “Herr Mannelig” which is also included as ‘shorter version’. The songs on “Eppur Si Muove” are all quite beautifully arranged and performed, but this CD is also not without it’s metal moments (a perfect example of this is “Per Aspera Ad Astra”, which is just brilliant) that help to make it a truly unique piece of art from Asis Nasseri and the gang. Kudos to Artoffact for re-issuing these great albums and hopefully getting them out to a new fan base. Haggard are a band that require attention while listening – in other words, you can’t just put these CDs on as background music (well okay, maybe you can) but it is fun to see what is coming around the next corner, musically. I would love to see how Haggard pulls all of this off live and on stage. “Eppur Si Muove” is a great album that is difficult to put into words – suffice it to say, “Eppur Si Muove” features some of the highest caliber of Symphonic Metal and so much more. A true musical journey.

Rating – 90/100



  1. All’Inizio è La Morte
  2. Minuetto in Fa-Minore
  3. Per Aspera ad Astra
  4. Of a Might Divine
  5. Gavotta in Si-Minore
  6. Herr Mannelig
  7. The Observer
  8. Eppur Si Muove
  9. Larghetto / Epilogo Adagio
  10. Herr Mannelig (Short Version)


Line Up

  • Asis Nasseri – Vocals, Guitars
  • Luz Marsen – Drums, Kettledrums
  • Fiffi Fuhrmann – Tenor, Crumhorn, Bassoon
  • Hans Wolf – Piano, Harpsichord, Keyboards, Organ
  • Steffi Hertz – Viola
  • Michael Stapf – Violin, Piccolo
  • Claudio Quarta – Guitars
  • Veronika Kramheller – Soprano
  • Gaby Koss – Soprano
  • Johannes Schleiermacher – Cello
  • Ivica Kramheller – Contrabass
  • Michael Schumm – Timpani, Bells, Classical Percussion 
  • Giacomo – Bass
  • Ingrid – Piano, Harpsichord, Keyboards, Organ
  • Nicolo – Bass Baritone
  • Manu – Soprano
  • Ally Storch-Hukriede – Violin
  • Patricia King – Cello
  • Andreas Peschke – Flute
  • Linda – Oboe
  • Andreas Fuchs – French Horn, Percussion
  • Andi Hemberger – Vocals
  • Mark Pendry – Clarinet



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like