Holy Moses – “30th Anniversary: In the Power of Now” (2012)


Label : Steamhammer Records/SPV

Review by Tony Cannella

To commemorate their milestone of reaching 30 years, German thrash legends Holy Moses recently went into the studio to re-record 20 classic songs from their history, as well as two brand new tracks. The whole collection is titled “30th Anniversary: In the Power of Now” and not only is it a reminder how long this band has been in existence but also the strength that their material has maintained over the years. Sabina Classen is the mainstay in Holy Moses and I believe she is one of the first females to utilize the extreme vocals technique and 30 years later, she’s still got it. This compilation includes 20-songs re-recorded with the current Holy Moses line-up, spread out over two discs and features over an hour’s worth of unrelenting, uncompromising music. In addition, two new songs were recorded, “Borderland” and “Entering the Now” which fit right In with the rest of the intensity of the material. Some of the songs that have been re-recorded are “Clash My Soul”, “Jungle of Lies”, “Finished With the Dogs”, “Reborn Dogs”. “Defcon II” and even more recent songs like “Disorder of the Order” and “Master of Disaster”. It all makes for a thrashing good time. A lot of times when a band re-records older songs, it means they have run out of ideas or it is a cash grab. I don’t believe that to be the case with this Holy Moses compilation. It is good to hear some of these songs get updated with the proper production. Besides, with all of these different sub-genres: opera metal, symphonic metal, etc. (which are all great), it is good to hear good old thrash music again and Holy Moses are one of the best ever at their craft.

Rating – 85/100



Disc 1

  1. Clash My Soul
  2. Jungle of Lies
  3. Finished With the Dogs
  4. Symbol of Spirit
  5. World Chaos
  6. SSP
  7. Borderland
  8. Lost in the Mace
  9. Walpurgisnacht
  10. Welcome to the Real World
  11. Near Dark


Disc 2

  1. Reborn Dogs
  2. Defcon II
  3. I Feel Sick
  4. Nothing for My Mum
  5. Disorder of the Order
  6. Corroded Dreams
  7. Entering the Now
  8. Creation of Violation
  9. Panic
  10. Decapitated Minds
  11. Master of Disaster


Line Up

  • Sabina Classen – Vocals
  • Michael Hankel – Lead Guitar
  • Oliver Jaath – Rhythm Guitars & Backing Vocals
  • Thomas Nietsch – Bass
  • Gerd Lucking – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Site

You May Also Like