Hybrid Resolution – Demo (2011)


Independent Release

Review by Tony Cannella

I’ve always felt fortunate to have the opportunity to review bands. To me, the most gratifying thing is being exposed to music that otherwise, I am fairly certain, I would never, ever have the chance to hear. There are a lot of fantastic bands out there that I have come to find out and Italy’s Hybrid Resolution are one more band I can add to the list of quality bands, thanks to their debut demo. Their new demo starts off with the intro “Et Lux Est (Overture)” and segues nicely into the awesome opening track “Passion Lost”. Vocalist Monica Auditore is excellent at her craft as she effortlessly changes vocal ranges. She does have the opera thing going for her, but she also utilizes a non-operatic clean vocal style. At times Hybrid Resolution do remind me of Tarja era Nightwish like on the powerfully symphonic next track “Wait For Me”, and comparisons to Tarja are inevitable for Monica – but she is way more than a Tarja Turunen clone. “Free Me” is another symphonically powerhouse tune. This song is heavier but a mid-tempo track and once again Monica’s vocals are amazing. The 19-minute demo is brought to its conclusion by the up-tempo, “Soul Reborn”, and is a great way to end things. Hybrid Resolution really took me by surprise. The quality of the demo is excellent and hopefully Hybrid Resolution will get signed soon. This is one of the best new bands I have heard in 2011. Hybrid Resolution has many great qualities and is utterly impressive.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Et Lux Est (Overture)
  2. Passion Lost
  3. Wait For Me
  4. Free Me
  5. Soul Reborn


Line Up

  • Monica Auditore – Vocals
  • Federico Truzzi – Guitars, Orchestration, Synths
  • Lorenzo Costi – Bass
  • Francesco Zanarelli – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook 


You May Also Like