Imperia – “Secret Passion” (2011)


Label : Massacre Records

Review by Tony Cannella

It is hard to believe that it has been 13-years since Helena Iren Michaelsen first burst on to the metal scene as the female vocalist for Trail of Tears and singing on their excellent “Disclosure in Red” debut. From there she released an album with the band Angel (not to be confused with 1970s arena rock outfit of the same name), before finding her home fronting Imperia. The band released their debut “The Ancient Dance of Qetesh” in 2004, followed that up with “Queen of Light” in 2007 and now have finally issued their long awaited third album “Secret Passion”. “Touch of Your Hand” is a great opener and one that sets the tempo straight away. Helena is in fine form vocally throughout the 60-minute playing time of “Secret Passion”. You have to respect the depth, character and emotion she is able to convey with her voice. She can go from an operatic style to more of a mid-level range, whatever the song calls for. “Secret Passion” is next and slows the pacing down a bit at the start before slowly picking up steam and settling into a steady groove that helps to elevate it into being one of the best songs offered up here. Other highlights include: “Fragile”, “Out of Sight”, “Let Down”, “Violence”, “Hold On”, “Greed” and I could go on and on. “Secret Passion” is concluded with “My Sleeping Angel” a song that sees Helena dueting on the track with Everon vocalist Oliver Philips. The digi-pack features the bonus track “Mistress” which is quite an interesting song.In my humble opinion, “Secret Passion” is Imperia at their best and one of the best things that Helena Iren Michaelsen has recorded in her long, distinguished and underrated career.

Rating – 95/100



  1. Touch of Your Hand
  2. Secret Passion
  3. Fragile
  4. Out of Sight
  5. Let Down
  6. Violence
  7. Like Rain
  8. Suicide
  9. Hold On
  10. Greed
  11. Missing It All
  12. My Sleeping Angel
  13. Mistress (Bonus Track)


Line Up

  • Helena Iren Michaelsen – Vocals
  • Jan Orkki Yrlund – Guitar
  • Gerry Verstreken – Bass
  • Steve Wolz – Drums



MySpace * ReverbNation * Facebook * Twitter * Site

You May Also Like